Updates

6 May

I’m writing a few quick lines today on a personal note because I just realized how long it’s been since I made a post here.  First, I apologize to my faithful readers (all 3 of you!) and promise to be back in the swing of things sometime in the next few weeks.

By way of explanation, let me just say that there have been some life-changing events recently that threw my schedule asunder and are largely to blame for the lapse in scientific blogging on my part.

The first was a Microbiology faculty-position interview out of state which took much of my time in preparation as it was the first interview of this type I have ever undergone.   The next (these are not necessarily in order of importance) was that I found out I’m expecting my first child.  I will spare you the gruesome details of my first trimester, and all the physical, emotional, and psychological changes underway, to simply state that it’s taken me a bit to get back on track with anything outside my basic work responsibilities, of which, my blog is not a part.

At any rate, I’m feeling better.  They did offer me the faculty job, but when it came out that I was preggo, it was determined (how to say this politely?) that it just wouldn’t work out.  So, I’m very happily staying put for a while and very excited to get back to blogging about all things microbial on a more regular basis… at least until the baby arrives in November, after which time, all bets are off until I’m back at work!

4 Responses to “Updates”

  1. Francine May 11, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Congratulations! I am looking forward to your return to blogging about microbes and hopefully the tales of motherhood as a scientist :)

  2. Technocrat May 14, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Just wanted to say congratulations! [again] =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

