Bioremediation with Beeswax

13 Jul

Two years ago, I showed this video in a class I was teaching on Environmental Microbiology and I still love it… it’s a fantastic example of biostimulation that I just had to share when I saw a story on  the possible application of PRP in clean-up efforts in the Gulf

A NASA partnership in the early 1990’s created a fine powder out of beeswax, called PRP, which can be spread over petroleum or oil to absorb (or encapsulate) the oil at the same time providing essential nutrients (nitrogen, phosphorus, and potassium) to the oil-eating microbes and speeding up the break-down process. 

Gotta love the History Channel!

One Response to “Bioremediation with Beeswax”

  1. Nori July 17, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Hi – I found this video and have sent it around to everybody I could find who might have some influence or power over what happens in the Gulf. My website for bioremediation is linked above. I believe bioremediation can clean up the oil spill, as well as reduce overall carbon pollution and create a sustainable environment.

Leave a Reply

